top of page

stream of consciousness with mostly end rhymes (how curious?) by Sam Oguntoyinbo

Medium: Writing and Spoken word poetry

Personal Instagram: @samoguntoyinbo

Poetry Instagram: ​@sampo.etry


stream of consciousness with mostly end rhymes (how curious?) spiritual rhythm no. 2

11/9/20

To Walt Whitman


You loafe and invite your soul

I lose at solo games of cornhole

Ram the walls of this great fishbowl

You gesture at God, but it seems the name is a stone of stumbling

I dub myself the bumbling theologian

The hardly-read surveyor of the ocean

In need of a floatation device

Or an outstretched hand

Of one standing atop the water, perhaps

Have you ever seen a lung collapse?

They call it atelectasis

I selected that organ for analysis because I'm asthmatic

My disorders pre-traumatic

Too dramatic--I play my fears on a loop

'Til they are static in my ventricles

Grey tentacles gripping atria

I'm ripping patriarchy out of my brain simultaneously

It's zany how I manage to complain so spontaneously

I'm bad at endings--no pretending they're not more like amputations

With a hacksaw

Parallax notwithstanding

I desire understanding but I write like this, how curious...

How curious?


24 views

Recent Posts

See All

Gallon of Gasoline by Durel Sankofa

Medium: Poetry Description: June Jordan's “I Must Become a Menace to My Enemies”...the words “must become” just fill me with life and vitality. The manifestation of a future self that she has decided

bottom of page