top of page

Befuddled by Dante Haughton

Medium: Poetry

Description: The piece was written as I approached the end of my undergraduate experience.



It’s hard to breathe on this atoll,

far from home,

wading.


It’s good to be gone:

to not miss out on the party

and to not stand on a wall

watching hip-hop stride by

(its obsidian legs holding high

a jeweled edifice of soul).


It’s good to have opportunity,

to see beyond the bricks on which,

as if resisting death,

black names are inscribed.

However, here,


where some eloquence sailed me,


the horizon is the only other

curly head. The bare,

timid night is my oscillated companion.


I exhaust from laughter quicker than other students,

who share a bloodline of bleach.

They convince themselves

that history’s almost past.


Still, I’m comforted by conversation.

It can be a pleasure to share privileged dreams

or to congregate in sophomoric mockery

of literatures and philosophies, yet,


my sage reflections in these

warped Nantucket windows

are quickly sobering:

I vomit at the arrogance.


I would say this island is getting to me

but I already been got;


a code switch ropes the spine with the tongue,

so, I release a note and hold.


Something stoic as an echo

(a voice which once called names like Shamar,

names like Shamar), descends and I hear it:


Muffled and torn,

grey and befuddled,

this swaying chorale

rapping on the ocean floor.





30 views

Recent Posts

See All

Gallon of Gasoline by Durel Sankofa

Medium: Poetry Description: June Jordan's “I Must Become a Menace to My Enemies”...the words “must become” just fill me with life and vitality. The manifestation of a future self that she has decided

bottom of page